Alive until 80

It was common, people born in Indonesia has live span around 63; its also stated to be holly for moslem, Prophet Muhammad SAW; passed away when He was 63. But it was quiet intriguing, lately I have intense learning on China, Japan, Korea, and some advanced countries with problem on aging population. Now I am assigned in Hong Kong. I must traveled for 3 hours, back and forth from Quarry Bay to Lantau Island; during my 1st quarter, I always use public transportation. I see a lot of elderly walk by themselves, alone, and sorrow. They start to ask government to extends retirement periods into 65 years; while kept blaming government about not react on that sensitive issues.

I don’t know what they thinking though, but I believed it’s grieve; to walk alone when you gets old. I always wake up in the morning, and do my marathon and half marathon or 10K when I visit new places on weekend, I see a lot of elderly along the way. Some are productive elderly, they became cleaning service, security guard, and kiosk sellers. In Indonesia; both second and third tier cities, such as Yogyakarta, Malang, Jambi, Manado, Pontianak, most of the elderly, are stay at home, isolated, and just spend the whole of the time being at home and seems isolated (especially woman); watching sinetron or FTV, And they will be very happy when their child come and ask them for go out for diner or vacation.

In my imagination; when I gets old, its time for enjoy life in a “exciting” way, such as sit, read newspapers, and drink a cup of specialty coffee and steamed banana on my garden, reading Wall Street Journal; reading novels, listen to vinyl disk, growing flowers, and have funny chat with your friend and talk seriously about new ventures, and diner together with your grandchildren every weekend; and can have traveling without worry about office hours with your couple.

“I wanted to, and willing to have exciting and adventurous live when I get 80” I still can do marathon at least when I am 70; have an impact to those around me; and has something worth to tell to my next generation. Recently I read some biographies, those who old but still active and rich. I read Mukhtar Riady, Liem Sie Liong, William Suryadjaja, Lee Kwan Yew, those men, has did things in  opposite direction, live prosper and being more active even they getting old, and the business continues for their 3rd generation, and they seeing their generation succeed; (and this leads me to learn more about Asia Richest lately ); and most of prominent figure; always told the story about their loyal, lovely, and smart couple; who support them to reach that level.It reminisce me about my parent too, which not see their child since they passed away when they still quite young, my mother passed away when she only 39, and my father 59.

  1. Stronger Feet; Longer miles.

Planned to be alive for next 53 years. The most intriguing part of my age was, when one of my boss and mentor, ask me about what I did have, after my 5 years working experience? I can’t answer his question vividly, since I really don’t have it; yet. I just have my brain, physic, and willingness to do something people not do, including cleaning the toilet. I come to Jakarta only with IDR 800.000 5 years ago, and a Golf bag, a gift from my uncle, containing 60.000 priced black shoes which I bought in Pasar Wonokromo at bargain; where the shoe heel pad; was wrecked, a couple of white shirt, and 4 underwear. And zero alumni friend; and use Matarmaja Train departed from Malang by 15:00, and arrived the next day by 9 AM; cost me about 51.000 IDR.

I felt grateful, I still survive, but his question, on how to be more prosper and stand on our feet. He told story about his story on house related investment and saving, and when he has first asset when he gets 25; he forced me to learn mandarin since it will be my ticket to live anywhere in the universe, he also give me opportunity to learn about strategic planning concept.

I also remember; Bosses’s Bos, stated about my lack of foundation on our one on one session, he said that I am such a beautiful building, but have fragile foundation, and complex structure. It either to be strengthen or destroy the beautiful building. I did have another perspective on it. I do believe that his wisdom; is paramount on giving suggestion, and I take it as a feedback for me to strengthen my core. Human is not building, but human is an evolving atom, it can grow or disrupt itself into smaller atom, and reform into new atom; could be bigger, depend on what kind of atom that it crashed with. So the foundation, is not strong, but then I need to crash more atom to make my foundation stronger. And I hope I will have opportunity to crash my self more frequently, with more solid molecule, to make me stronger. and I interpret it; lately, as my ability to be my true self. Where I must communicate what I am thinking, without copy or use other people perspective; including way of thinking, communicate, and idealism.

I always respects all of my boss, which I always grateful too, experiencing 3 different direct boss for late 5 years, the first is teach me about empathy, the second teach me about perseverance, and the third taught me about interpersonal and teamwork. The other leader was taught me about being ready for more prosper.

Insights I learned is that, it’s an urgency for me to be a Man, with authenticity, confidence, and more forward looking.

I always be youngest guy compared to my peers, I was youngest in my school, university, and works. But not until this moment where I am being the oldest from my peers. I met very distinguished new friend during late 2015. I met Cambridge Nano Scientist and China Communist singer, AB, South East Asia focus social scientist and painter from NUS, CY, those guys are young, educated, and modest. They speaks several languages, quickly learn something new, assertive, and yes, social butterfly. I grateful, since it kept me alert; to move up my knowledge, skills, and interpersonal capabilities. It’s a blessing to have opportunity to learn from them. I never have this kind of excitement. I believed that getting old, not equal to have more experience. And I hope I can learn from those younger and smarter generations.

It was until 2 days ago, a video from TED X, from Tai Lopez. it was 3 AM and I can’t sleep, about concept of 33% of our friend must be lower than us, so we can felt better, 33% of our friend must be older than us, to accelerate our learning; these are our mentor, and 33% of our friend is on the same age with us, these are those people that we must keep motivate and encourage each other.

I felt grateful, I meet a lot of inspiring people which always show me the way; poke me; of last 5 years journey and don’t hesitate to provide feedback. Tai Lopez is kind a serendipity for me, since his equation is applicable. he also point out to learn more about people biography of famous people. I believed it’s a classic taught, but I still believe that worth applied. إِيَّاكَ نَعْبُدُ وَإِيَّاكَ نَسْتَعِينُ

2.Partner for long Haul; higher purpose.

A partnership, is not a race, and its clearly not a relay race. Its about long haul. Its about sharing purpose and love. The love definition, probably I took a word from certain topic during in Coffewar from a lady that I forgot the name; which she said she’s a feminist; love is combination between chemistry and sex appeal. Where I think still make sense to be embraced. Purpose definition is both must support each other ambitions.

I did involved in some relationships during my life, and I think this year is very critical to for me to aim the right one, even right for me sometimes not right for the counterpart. But I think the faster I decide, the better. Lesson learned from my mentors, related to relationship has taught me “there’s always more beautiful flowers; then you regret that you lost the best”, and I said its true, the interesting part of this world is u met a lot of interesting thing, but in this kind of stuff, I do need to stop the curiosity. The Zodiac said that the problem of being sagitarius is it weakness on “adventurous” side.

I ever felt ups and down during a relationship, even terrible things happened a year ago, which taught me a lot about value of trust and not to do the same failure. I do believe that something best fit for me will come;  and will be able to have a long haul flight with me, as a Pilot and co pilot.

Anyway, I still dreaming the same thing,  going to Chicago, Beijing, and Israel. Probably Israel is the most interesting one, Israel is special country since its located in the center; between Africa, Asia, and Europe; and has historical. But we need capital to do all things right? Who gonna be my co pilot?. Wish Allah always give me right direction.

اهدِنَــــاالصِّرَاطَالمُستَقِيمَ

 

A Vehicle to Go; Create A Private Car;

some of my friend is involved in private equity, venture capital, and other start up business and seems fed up with corporate ladder. I believe those companies will be growing rapidly for years to come. It reminds me a statement from December edition of HBR, an advertisement that stated “are your skills on par with your ambition?” i realize, that i still unable to do those complex things. It makes me triggered to improve skills I lack of, especially accounting and corporate finance. Since I also interested on merger acquisition and strategic management consulting, strategic planning, and investment.

I saw a shifting interest on books that I read, I used to reads a lot on marketing, branding, self healing books while in college, but for late two years, it tends to be related to economics, consulting, corporate restructuring, and Asia; and it makes me more hungry to learn about history, what happened in the generation before us.

I hope I am still on the track to be involved on those kind of activities (Even deep inside of my mindset, I still not confidence on my ability to crunch numbers; like friend from China and India). I said activities since money is not my ultimate goal, personal development, network, and specific skills enhancement opportunity are my reason to do more. I believe on what I am doing will helps me in the future.

During my Graduate school process in PMBS, I learned team dynamics. I always try to collaborate with different personalities, skills, and academic background. I am grateful since I frequently have opportunity to met people who posses ambition, determination, and life purpose. These people always inspired me to have my own vehicle; without corporation boundaries. Means having my own business. I realized now, I don’t have any asset in balance sheet, but by the time; hopefully my intellectual capital will be a goodwill to add into my asset value and collaborate with those who inspires me; while I  still in an infancy. I wanted to say thank you for friends who always encourage me to do something more, and kept put faith that I can do more, such as Bagus ,Reinaldy, Guruh, Ilma , Sarra, Nurul, Vincent, Rakhmat P, Nana, Ahong, Steven, Derby, Mr.JJU ,Mr.MPP, and Mr.HBW.

صِرَاطَ الَّذِينَ أَنعَمتَعَلَيهِمْ غَير ا لمَغضُوبِعَلَيهِمْ وَلاَالضَّالِّينَ

I do know, I am living in a dream. But don’t you think; dream is the only gas that keep your torch, brighter. Since life is a journey, not a destination, I wish this conceptual way of thinking will guides me for the next 53 years to come. Never know the future.

Lantau Island

HKIA

December 7th 2015. 17.25 PM.

 

 

 

Leave a comment